Food From Home

Cooking at home for fun, health and frugality!

Thai Chicken Pizza

on June 12, 2016

img_20160611_1813218_rewind_kindlephoto-1730241652.jpg

My basic pizza crust recipe comes from allrecipes.com. I’ve been using it for 15 years now. My preference is to use 1 tsp honey instead of white sugar and I let it rise for 1 hour. I divided it in half to make 2 thin crust pizzas about 10″-12″ across. http://allrecipes.com/recipe/20171/quick-and-easy-pizza-crust/

Hagbard and I have been talking about trying different pizzas. Once upon a time he had a Thai chicken pizza at a restaurant far away. I found some recipes through Pinterest but none seemed exactly right to him. He said absolutely not to carrots on pizza but maybe to bean sprouts or zucchini. I was unable to get bean sprouts so I used my spiralizer device to make zucchini noodles (zoodles) and put some of those on the pizza. I had some leftover grilled chicken. I found jarred sweet chili sauce and peanut sauce at my local store. The amounts I am giving are for 1 medium pizza.

Inspiration recipes:
http://www.cookincanuck.com/2012/07/thai-chicken-naan-pizza-recipe-with-peanut-sauce-red-pepper-carrots/
http://www.carlsbadcravings.com/25-minute-thai-chicken-flatbread-pizza/
http://www.bigoven.com/recipe/thin-crust-thai-chicken-pizza-like-papa-murphys/200673

Thai Chicken Pizza
Sauce:
1 tsp grated fresh ginger
1/2 c sweet chili sauce
1/4 c peanut sauce

Toppings:
3 oz cooked chicken, cubed
1/2 cup yellow or orange bell peppers, chopped
1/2 cup red onion, chopped
1/2 c zucchini noodles- cut into about 4″ pieces
1/4 c slices green onion
1 c shredded mozzarella
1 T crushed peanuts

Preheat oven to 425°F.
If you are using pizza stone put it in the oven to warm for 10 minutes.
Prepare pizza dough and roll out to about 12″ circle. Transfer dough onto warm pizza stone. Mix together sauce ingredients and spread on raw dough. Sprinkle with cheese and other toppings. Bake about 15 minutes.

Verdict: Somewhat spicy but not too spicy. Different but tasty. Hagbard said it was pretty close to what he had before. He experimented with putting some bbq sauce on a piece and really liked that combination. I think one recipe used a coconut sauce drizzle on top of the cooked pizza and that might be fun to try in future.


Leave a comment