Food From Home

Cooking at home for fun, health and frugality!

Sausage Stuffed Potatoes

on June 6, 2016

A couple of years ago Hagbard decided to try beer making. He got a kit from Midwest Brewing Supply. It was fun to try but we aren’t really drinkers so we have boxes of bottled beer. I want to use some up so I went looking for recipes that use beer. I found a recipe for Oktoberfest Potato Skins that also used sauerkraut. I also had excess sauerkraut that needs to be used so this seems like a great idea.
I searched the dairy and deli section of my local store. My local small town store does not have gruyere cheese. They did have one big block of white cheddar cheese so I triumphantly grabbed that. That was the only difficult ingredient for me to obtain.
I don’t remember what kind of beer Hagbard made and it wasn’t labeled. Just use whatever beer you like I guess.
In the original recipe you are instructed to scoop out the potatoes and discard that or use it for something else. That seemed ridiculous to me so I just mashed the potato and mixed it with the filling.

image

Sausage Stuffed Potatoes
4 russet potatoes
2 T cooking oil like canola or peanut
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 bratwurst sausages, cut into circles
1 onion, sliced thinly
1/2 c beer
2 T butter
1 c shredded white cheddar cheese
1/2 c sauerkraut

Heat oven to 350°F.
Wash and dry potatoes. Poke a few holes. Spray with cooking spray or rub with oil. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake for 1 hour or until tender. Remove from oven and let cool slightly.
While potatoes are baking heat 2 T oil over medium heat. Add bratwurst slices and brown 3-4 minutes per side. Remove and chop into smaller pieces and set aside. Add onions to pan and cook 20-25 minutes stirring frequently.
Add chopped bratwurst pieces back to pan along with beer, sauerkraut, salt and pepper. Stir and cook until slightly thickened. Set aside.
Cut potatoes in halves. Scoop out flesh leaving 1/4- 1/2″ border. Place skins in baking dish and brush with some butter. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.
Mash potato flesh with 1-2 T butter and mix with sausage mixture and half of the shredded cheese.
Fill each potato half heaping full with the mixture. Top with remaining shredded cheese. Bake 15-20 minutes. Let sit 5-10 minutes before serving. 3-4 servings.

image

Verdict:
Hagbard and I really liked these potatoes. Lots of good flavors and very filling. Amethesto did not join us for dinner. I don’t think she would try this because so many things are mixed together.

One bottle emptied… now to find more recipes that use beer!


Leave a comment