Food From Home

Cooking at home for fun, health and frugality!

Easter Breakfast: Strawberry Rolls With Vanilla Glaze

on March 27, 2016

image

I got up around 5 AM today to make some breakfast rolls and deviled eggs. The deviled eggs are standard for Easter but these strawberry rolls are something new to try this year.
http://bakerbynature.com/strawberry-rolls-with-vanilla-glaze/
I didn’t change the recipe. What I would suggest is that when you are instructed to roll the dough tightly that they don’t really mean all that tight or all your strawberry filling will be pushed out even with the 1″ border. I had the majority of the filling ooze onto the counter the first time I rolled. I had to unroll and scoop the filling back on the dough and roll somewhat more loosely.
I made 12 rolls because it fit better in my 8″ x 8″ baking dish and divides more evenly among 3 people than an odd number like 10 or 11. If you have kids are probably painfully aware that they like equal amounts when it comes to food. My finished rolls ended up being about 2″ across and 2″ high.
I sampled a warm roll while cooking my hard boiled eggs. They were light and fluffy. The flavor was pretty subtle and lightly sweet- mostly the flavor came from the vanilla glaze. The strawberry wasn’t really screaming strawberry to me. I think I would like it better if there were also a cinnamon or lemon flavor with the strawberry…maybe in the dough. The rest of the family has not surfaced yet to give them a try so this is just my sleepy opinion.
Hey! It’s 9 AM now. The cat is having her second breakfast/snack… how often do hobbit cat’s eat? Oh, she’s done. I probably freaked her out staring at her eating. Well, following the cat around and reporting on her activities doesn’t get deviled eggs made… or does it? Nope. No little elves have made the eggs for me.

image

PJ cat says petting her is more important than cooking.

Back to work. 🐇

ETA: Hagbard and Amethesto did get up and try the rolls and liked them.

From my home to yours,
Lounmoun

Leave a Reply

