Food From Home

Cooking at home for fun, health and frugality!

Pepperoni Pizza Casserole

on March 24, 2016

image

I had been looking at casserole recipes when I planned this month’s meals. My attention was caught by a pizza casserole recipe. It had pasta and all kinds of pizza toppings. We like pizza and Amethesto loves pasta. However, Amethesto only eats pepperoni pizza from a restaurant or a frozen pizza. She hasn’t eaten homemade pizza for about 7 years because ONE time I made a pizza she declared tasted like “vomit”. Thanks for that description kid. She ate my pizza happily before that incident but never again! That one time was it for her. She does not give food a second chance and is wary of new foods. Maybe some of you have a child or family member like this. I joked with Hagbard that I should get a job at the pizza restaurant and then a pizza factory so Amethesto wouldn’t eat pizza again because I might have made it. Sigh. Anyhoo, this is my inspiration recipe. http://tastesbetterfromscratch.com/2015/08/pizza-casserole.html
I decided to make my version a bit smaller, use only pepperoni and skip the parmesan cheese.  I didn’t want a ton of leftovers in case no one liked it.

Pepperoni Pizza Casserole
8 oz dry penne pasta
4 oz sliced pepperoni
1/2 tsp dry oregano
1 clove garlic, minced
24 oz jar spaghetti sauce or pizza sauce
1 c shredded mozzarella cheese

Heat oven to 350°F.
Cook penne pasta according to instructions on package. Drain and stir in sauce, pepperoni, garlic and oregano. Put in greased 8″ x 8″ baking dish. Top with mozzarella and bake 25-30 minutes.
Makes 3-5 servings.

The verdict:
Amethesto picked out the pepperoni in her serving and gave it to Hagbard. She really liked just the pasta with cheese though.
Hagbard went back for a second helping. He said he’d like to try it with lots of pizza toppings mixed in.
I thought it was pretty tasty and filling. I imagine the fuller combination pizza version would be really good too. I don’t think the parmesan cheese would be necessary so I’d still leave it out and save a few calories.
We had just 1 serving left so unless you serve a salad and garlic bread with it you probably won’t get 6 servings for most adults/teenagers.

From my home to yours,
Lounmoun

Leave a Reply

