Food From Home

Cooking at home for fun, health and frugality!

St. Patrick’s Day Non-Authentic Irish Traditions & Pistachio Pudding Cookies

on March 17, 2016

I have a mixed European ancestry. My ancestors from Ireland arrived in the United States a long ass time ago. My  Irish American immigrant ancestor had a child born in 1758 in Virginia.  On St. Patrick’s Day my family so long removed from Ireland  always ate corned beef, potatoes and cabbage. We usually had some green gelatin dessert.
I’ve read two articles today about how  St. Patrick’s Day  food traditions in the US changed from traditions in Ireland. It is interesting to find out about why we do these things. Corned beef is delicious so I don’t really need a historical reason or a holiday to eat it. I’m sure whatever people are eating today in Ireland is awesome too.
http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/food-and-drink/why-are-millions-of-irish-americans-serving-corned-beef-on-st-patrick-s-day-1.2575518
http://www.nytimes.com/2016/03/18/dining/corned-beef-and-cabbage-not-so-irish-historians-say.html
Today I absolutely have my corned beef in the slow cooker and I am going to make pistachio pudding cookies for our dessert. The pistachio pudding adds a little green. The cookie is not Irish or a particular holiday tradition but has a tasty memory attached.

When I was young my parents would take us all to visit my aunt, uncle and cousin… really we would descend on their peaceful home in a noisy herd. We would read my cousin’s comic books and play on his tire swing. We didn’t have these things at home. My aunt would often bake soft, buttery vanilla pudding cookies on these occasions for us. My mom never made these kind of cookies. I have great memories of the treat of these cookies all warm from the oven. My aunt sadly died of cancer when I was a sophomore in high school but years later when we made a family cookbook we all agreed to the inclusion of Aunt Bev’s pudding cookie recipe. I’m sure she got it from a newspaper, magazine or pudding box but it was still HER recipe. It is a favorite cookie of my daughter now too. You can use any instant pudding flavor you like and add things like chocolate chips. It is fun to experiment with different flavors.

IMG_0823

Pistachio Pudding Cookies
2 1/4 c flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 c butter, softened
3/4 c brown sugar
1/4 c white sugar
3.4 oz box pistachio instant pudding
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs

Preheat oven to 350° F. Mix flour and baking soda in one bowl. In separate bowl, beat butter, sugars and instant pudding until combined. Mix in vanilla and eggs. Add flour mixture gradually and mix until combined. Drop by the spoonful onto baking sheet 2″ apart. Bake 8 -10 minutes. Let cool 1 minute on the baking sheet. These cookies stay soft. Store in a tightly sealed container. Makes about 3 dozen cookies.

These turned out to have a very pale greenish cast and subtle flavor. I added a bit of green tea powder to the last batch and it made the cookie a little darker and stronger flavor than just pistachio alone.

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

From my home to yours,
Lounmoun

One response to “St. Patrick’s Day Non-Authentic Irish Traditions & Pistachio Pudding Cookies

  1. […] corned beef, potatoes, cabbage, pistachio pudding cookies […]

Leave a Reply

