Food From Home

Cooking at home for fun, health and frugality!

Smokestack BBQ/Tandoori Style Chicken Inspiration

on March 2, 2016

I had chicken thighs to cook for dinner tonight with sweet potato and corn on the side. This morning I was thinking about what to do to the chicken. I took inspiration from two recipes. The first was a recipe for chicken wings that first appeared in Saveur magazine in their June/July 2011 issue. http://www.saveur.com/article/Recipes/Smokestacks-Chicken-Wings I’ve never actually made the recipe for wings  but have used the spice combination on grilled chicken breasts before. The second inspiration recipe is for Tandoori Style chicken. http://www.food.com/recipe/tandoori-style-chicken-83276  Hagbard and I love this chicken but Amethesto doesn’t like Indian food.  I still make it of course.

My chicken mixture:

1/4 c plain yogurt

1T peanut oil

1T lemon juice

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp dried thyme

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/4 tsp ground sage

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1-2 lbs chicken thighs (I had bone in thighs with skin on today)

I jabbed the chicken with a sharp knife all over. I put the thighs and yogurt in a plastic baggie and put it in the refrigerator to marinate all day. I would say let it sit in the mixture 4-10 hours before cooking. Dump it out in a baking dish when you are ready to cook. Put it in a 425 F oven for 40-45 minutes. Walk away until it is done. That’s it.

IMG_0766.JPG

Ready to go in the oven.

I put one sweet potato and one white potato in the oven along side the chicken. They took about 20 minutes longer because that sweet potato was big! I didn’t do anything special to prepare the potatoes- just washed them and poked holes in them.

While things were cooking I did a workout. When things were almost done in the oven, I  came back and put a couple of frozen mini corn cobs in a pot on the stove. I followed the package instructions and brought it to a boil and then reduced the heat slightly and cooked covered for about 10 minutes.

When the sweet potato was finally done I took the skin off and sliced it. I topped these medallions with some butter, salt and pepper. I split that sweet potato between Hagbard and myself.  The white potato was for Amethesto.  The corn cobs got some butter and salt and were shoved on thick skewers because all but one of our corn holders went missing. Corn-on-a-stick is kind of fun though.

The verdict from everyone was that the food was tasty tonight. I think the sweet potatoes were a good side dish to the chicken. A crispy salad of some kind would probably be great with this also.

A question that is pretty common on weight loss forums is how you can eat with your family when you are the only one watching your calories so I took pictures of all of our plates tonight. I skipped the corn tonight and had less butter on my sweet potato.

Not drastically different tonight. It fit my calorie goal and filled me up.

If you are watching sodium you could cut the salt down or try it without. If you wanted to use chicken breasts  you might need to adjust the time you cook this.

 

One response to “Smokestack BBQ/Tandoori Style Chicken Inspiration

  1. […] Tandoori style Chicken, vegetables, naan […]

Leave a Reply

