Food From Home

Cooking at home for fun, health and frugality!

Lemon Lentil Soup

on February 29, 2016

Lemon lentil soup is something everyone in my house will eat happily. If you have a picky eater you probably know how great that is. I got this recipe originally out of an old Taste of Home magazine I swiped from my mom years ago. I used to read her magazines when we would visit for a weekend once a month or so. The original recipe is on the Taste of Home site now. http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/lemon-lentil-soup
Making this soup was my first time cooking and eating parsnip. You can leave it out but it adds a nice flavor. I have made a few small adaptations. I use onion instead of leeks because that is what I always have on hand. I dump in a can of diced tomato instead of tomato puree. I omit the lemon peel.
This recipe makes lots of leftovers for my family which freeze and reheat well. I’d say it is at least 6-8 servings. It is cheap, meatless, low calorie and filling. Very easy even if you are a beginner cook.

Lemon Lentil Soup
1 c chopped onion
2 T cooking oil (I use peanut oil)
15 oz can diced tomato
1 c chopped celery
1 c chopped carrot
1/4 c chopped, peeled parsnip
2 T dried basil
8 c water
1 1/2 c dried lentils, rinsed
2 bay leaves
1 1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp dry dill weed
1/2 tsp black pepper
2-3 T lemon juice

In a large saucepan, sauté onions in oil until tender over medium high heat. Add next five ingredients. Cook 3-4 minutes.
Add water & bring to a boil. Add lentils & bay leaves. Reduce heat to medium/medium low and simmer covered for 30 minutes.
Stir in salt, dill weed, and pepper. Simmer 30 more minutes or until lentils are tender. Discard bay leaves. Stir in lemon juice.

3 responses to “Lemon Lentil Soup

  1. […] Reviving this blog! Lemon Lentil Soup » Feb […]

  2. […] pizza 6. Batsaria 7. Vegetarian shepherd’s pie 8. Baked strawberry cheesecake oatmeal 9. Lentil soup, bread 10. Baked spaghetti olivetti 11. Black bean empanadas, salad 12. Falafel, Greek rice 13. Mac […]

Leave a Reply

